PCNC Registration No. 0852010

Makati Head Office

SGV-1, 6760 Ayala Ave., Makati City Philippines



On 29 June 2015, the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) presented the SGV Foundation (SGVF) with a certification as an auxiliary social welfare and development agency (SWDA) under the Resource Agency category. SGVF Executive Director Marlu Balmaceda received the certification from members of the DSWD Institutional Development Group, headed by Undersecretary Angelita Gregorio-Medel. The certification is valid until 29 March 2018. An auxiliary SWDA supports the delivery of social welfare and development programs and services to disadvantaged sectors. A Resource Agency, in particular, is an auxiliary SWDA that provides tangible (funds, food, clothing, medicine, shelter) or intangible resources (knowledge and skills) to assist various SWDAs in providing social services to their beneficiaries. The Foundation can now officially accept donations for calamities and other occurrences that may involve donations and handle the distribution of such funds to the intended beneficiaries.
Read more
The SGV Foundation and the co-presenters of the Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2015 signed recently a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) at the Philippine Stock Exchange (PSE). Present at the MOA signing were representatives from the PSE, the Department of Trade and Industry and Philippine Business for Social Progress as well as media sponsors BusinessWorld and the ABS-CBN News Channel. Since its launch in 2003, the Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines program has become one of the most prestigious awards programs in the local business community. The program recognizes the strength, dynamism and resilience of Filipino entrepreneurs for creating and operating sustainable, successful enterprises. The search is open to all Filipino entrepreneurs. To be eligible, a nominee has to be a Filipino business owner or founder who is primarily responsible for the growth of his or her company. The nominee must still be active in business, which must have been in operation for at least two years. A completed nomination form, audited financial statements and other documents are required for a nomination to be considered for further judging. Nominations to the award will be accepted until May 31, 2015. The theme for the 2015 program is “Game Changers” – a term that best describes entrepreneurs as those who win the game by changing it for the better. Capitalizing on their strategic vision, they see the possibilities and opportunities that others cannot. They bring about positive transformation by applying creative innovation infused with dauntless determination. As game changers, entrepreneurs support a greater purpose, which is to improve the current business landscape by challenging conventions and creating new paradigms that drive social and economic development. For nomination forms and other information, please contact the Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines secretariat at 891-0307 local 7766 or e-mail eoy.info@ph.ey.com. Contact: Marlu Balmaceda (894-8364) or Yin Maldonado (891-0307 ext. 7768) About the Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines The Entrepreneur Of The Year awards program was founded in the United States by Ernst & Young (EY) in 1986 to recognize the achievements of the most successful and innovative entrepreneurs worldwide. In 2001, EY expanded the program and launched the World Entrepreneur Of The Year awards. In the Philippines, the SGV Foundation, Inc. established the Entrepreneur Of The Year program in 2003. Supporting the program as co-presenters are the Department of Trade and Industry, Philippine Business for Social Progress, and the Philippine Stock Exchange. Media sponsors are BusinessWorld and the ABS-CBN News Channel. Jollibee Foods Corporation President and CEO Tony Tan Caktiong won the very first Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines award in 2003 and went on to win the 2004 World Entrepreneur Of The Year award in Monte Carlo, Monaco. Other past awardees include Socorro “Nanay Coring” Cancio-Ramos, Founder and General Manager of National Book Store (2004); Lance Gokongwei, President and CEO of Cebu Air, Inc. (2005); Senen Bacani, Chairman and President of La Frutera, Inc. (2006); Wilfred Steven Uytengsu, Jr., President and CEO of Alaska Milk Corporation (2007); Ambassador Jesus P. Tambunting, Chairman and President of Planters Development Bank (2009); Tennyson Chen, President of Bounty Fresh Food Inc. (2010); Erramon I. Aboitiz, President and CEO of Aboitiz Power Corporation (2011); Jaime I. Ayala, Founder and CEO, Hybrid Social Solutions Inc. (2012); and Ben Chan, Chairman of Suyen Corporation (2013). A highly distinguished panel of independent judges composed of leaders from government, business, and academe will evaluate nominees in areas such as innovation, financial performance, and personal commitment to their business, employees and community. The Entrepreneur Of The Year program was introduced in the United States in 1986 by professional services firm Ernst & Young to recognize the achievements of outstanding entrepreneurs within successful, growing and dynamic businesses. The program currently runs in more than 145 cities across 60 countries. Each country sends its winner to the World Entrepreneur Of The Year event held annually in Monte Carlo, at which the winner of the World Entrepreneur Of The Year award is announced.
Read more

Reach out to us Get in touch

Want to find out more about how SGV can help enable your business? Please use one of the channels indicated at the right side to communicate with us and let’s start a conversation!
6760 Ayala Avenue, Makati City, Metro Manila, 1226
Tel: (632) 8891-0307
Fax: (632) 8819-0872 / (632) 8818-1377
SyCip Gorres Velayo & Co.
6760 Ayala Avenue, Makati City, 1226
Metro Manila, Philippines